He’s White And I Still Like Him

Interracial dating! That term has been known to scare a person without any fears. I simply don’t understand why. Dating is dating and loving someone is loving someone. Whether they are black, white, Asian or Arab; love is love and I love me some men.

So, why do people get so riled up about interracial dating? In the black culture, the black women often exercises her opinion of frustration and disappointment in black men dating white women. She often confides in her other girlfriends who coincidentally holds the same opinion as she does. What if this same woman finds herself a white man and falls madly in love? What does she do with him when she is around her friends.

A man is a man, no matter the color of his skin. He will make mistakes and say stupid things that makes your skin crawl. He will forget your big day and some of your greatest accomplishments. He might even forget to pick your daughter/son up from school. Point being: The conscience of a man does not differ based on the color of his skin. He will go on as any other man will.

Is there a stigma in the black community of black women dating white men? I’ve heard and read things such as, “She ain’t nothing but a gold digger”, “that’s a waste of melanin”, “Who she supposed to be” and “That ain’t gone last at all”. Why does one person’s love life bother you so much that you wish them nothing but the worst? Now, I would feel differently if it was a black woman who said she preferred white men. That would be something to really dig deep into.

It’s not a preference for many! It is simply acting on love! It is feeling the knot in the pit of your stomach and consciously deciding to untie it. The way my love life is set up: Any man with stability and dependability can come all the way over here.

3 thoughts on “He’s White And I Still Like Him

Add yours

  1. So strange. I don’t know nary black woman who cares personally whether or not a black man is dating a white woman. I can speak for myself and say the black men I see in that situation are NEVER my type. Never. So if they are happy, that’s good. People should be happy with whomever they choose to date. I believe black womens’ “anger” over this is overstated- especially the black woman who is too busy with her own life to stick her nose in other folks’ lane.

    Like

    1. I agree with you in all forms. Unfortunately, I know many of these black women who are professional and leaders in their communities but have the most negative views on interracial dating. I feel that people should not have to answer to anyone in this situation. The black who are too busy with their lives are being overshadowed by the one’s with the negative views.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

